Homeland Housing

In effect January 1, 2017 as an amalgamation of the Sturgeon Foundation and Westlock Foundation. A Formal Ministerial Order was signed in December 2016 by Minister of Seniors and Housing, Hon. Lori Sigurdson.

Sturgeon Foundation

In December 1960, the first “Master Agreement” between the former Sturgeon Foundation and the Province of Alberta was signed by representatives of five municipalities: Village of Legal, Town of Morinville, County of Sturgeon, Town of St. Albert and Village of Gibbons.  The “Foundation Charter” was established which outlined the purpose of the Foundation and regulations to be followed under the “Homes for the Aged Act”.  A Formal Agreement was signed April 30th, 1962, by Ernest Manning, Premier of Alberta and R.D. Jorgenson, Minister of Public Welfare.

  • The first lodge “Legal Chateau” (now Chateau Sturgeon) in Legal officially opened in July, 1962.
  • Spruce View Manor in Gibbons officially opened in June, 1978.
  • Heritage Place Lodge in Morinville officially opened in August, 1979.
  • Chateau Mission Court in St. Albert officially opened in November, 1980.
  • In 1980 the Town of Redwater joined Sturgeon Foundation, increasing the number of contributing municipalities to six.
  • Diamond Spring Lodge in Redwater officially opened in October, 1982.
  • In 1983 the Town of Bon Accord joined Sturgeon Foundation, increasing the number contributing municipalities to seven.
  • In January 1984 a Corporate Office was established in Morinville.
  • North Ridge Lodge in St. Albert officially opened in August 1992.
  • In 1995 Sturgeon Foundation took over the management of self-contained units in Morinville, Legal, Bon Accord, Gibbons, and Redwater.
  • In March 2004 the current building being leased for the Corporate Office was purchased and renovated by the Foundation.
  • In 2009 the Government of Alberta provided a grant towards construction of a 48 unit seniors’ affordable housing development in St. Albert.  North Ridge Place was built adjacent to North Ridge Lodge.  North Ridge Place officially opened August 12, 2010.
  • Sturgeon Foundation celebrated its 50th Anniversary in October 2012 with the unveiling of a new Logo.
  • North Ridge Place Phase II begin construction on November 10, 2016 to add another 42 suites to St. Albert, to adjoin the current building.

Westlock Foundation

Formed in 1960, the Foundation’s history began with the construction of Pembina Lodge. The Lodge was constructed by the Alberta Government in 1960 and originally accommodated fifty residents who shared bathroom facilities. A cottage unit to house four couples was built in 1970, which contained kitchen facilities and a central laundry facility.

In 1972, a Lodge addition was completed to accommodate ten more residents. By 1976, the demand was increasing for more rooms. Sixteen single rooms, a larger lounge area and considerable renovations (which included bathroom facilities for each resident) took place. Another eighteen-month renovation/construction project started in May 1992. The existing building was modernized and a twenty suite, two-storey wing was added on to the building. The management and staff introduced the public to the new facility with numerous ‘touring teas’. The new Lodge accommodates sixty-eight seniors who also have access to the Seniors Drop-in Center and the Westlock downtown area nearby.

Smithfield Lodge is named after the Dios Smith family who for many years farmed the land where the lodge is now located. The name “Smithfield” was suggested by Mrs. Jean Sawyer of Westlock in the “Name the Lodge contest” co-sponsored by the Westlock Foundation Board of Directors. The official opening was October 5, 1984. Many special guests attended the ceremonies, including Frank Appleby (MLA for Athabasca), Mayor John Golinowski, John Nadeau (representative for the M.D.), Ron Herlick (project manager for the Alberta Mortgage and Housing Corporation), Terry McQuade (representative of the Village of Clyde), Bob Jorgenson (former MLA for Westlock County and Barrhead) and many more honoured guests. Recognition was given to the Westlock County firefighters, the Legion, and Clyde Agricultural Society for their donations to the Lodge. A plaque, commemorating the opening, was presented to Ella Hodgins, who represented the residents. The Smithfield Lodge is home to forty-four residents.

September 1, 2003 sixty supportive housing units (addition to the Lodge) were completed. This partnership with Aspen Regional Health Authority provides 24-hour care for twenty designated units.

Self Contained Housing in Westlock

There are 86 seniors self-contained housing units in five complexes and three communities as follows:

  • Parkview Place – 30 one bedroom units all on one floor with hallway access only, built in 1978.
  • Parkview Plaza – 20 one bedroom units on two floors with hallway access only (and with elevator), built in 1982.
  • Legion Villa – 20 one bedroom units on two floors with hallway access only (and with elevator), built in 1988.
  • Eastview Manor (Clyde) – 12 one bedroom units on one floor with hallway access only, built in 1983.
  • Spruceview Manor (Jarvie) – 4 one bedroom units, townhouse style, with front and rear access.

Contact Us

Homeland Housing
P.O. Box #3096
9922 103 Street
Morinville, AB T8R 1R7
Phone: 780-939-5116
Fax: 780-939-2513
[email protected]

What's New?


Have questions about our facilities?
Check out our FAQ section. 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates